How and Why I Transitioned to Vegetarianism

I had wanted to become vegetarian since I was eleven years old but I was never allowed too. Being a huge animal rights activist and just an overall animal lover, I never thought it was right that we killed animals for our food. Also, I just didn’t really care for the taste of meat and I knew I could live without it. I was constantly bugging my mom to let me make the change in my diet but it never worked. She felt that I was too young to be vegetarian because I needed a lot of protein. I kept bugging her as I got older and the answer changed to “It’s too expensive. You can be vegetarian when you buy your own food” and thats what I did.

Finally I was living alone in college and I decided to take this plunge. Back at home, I knew I was going to do this because I knew the dining center would have vegetarian options so I figured it was a perfect opportunity to change my diet. As time grew closer to me leaving for college, I began to eat less and less meat and was substituting it for different protein rich foods like quinoa (I’m not going to give too much away because I’m going to have a whole blog post on protein rich meat substitutions). Here’s a website that gives some tips on transitioning.

In the beginning I was only allowing myself to have meat maybe five times a week, and as time grew closer to me leaving I kept cutting down that number. When I came to Chico, I was only allowing meat in my diet once a week and when I was fully moved in and went to the dining center I became full on vegetarian and I didn’t even look back. This is by far one of the best decisions I have made and I definitely recommend making the change. Here are some reasons to go vegetarian.

Thanks for reading and I’ll see you next time!

Leave a Reply

